Fana-ang retains ABC President seat

Bontoc, Mountain Province – Punong Barangay Alexander N. Fana-ang of Barangay Bontoc Ili, Bontoc shall continue to sit as the ex-officio member of the Sangguniang Bayan of this capital town after he was re-elected as the President of the Municipal Association of Barangay Captains (ABC) on July 16, 2018.


Fana-ang who garnered nine votes won over his opponent, Tocucan Punong Barangay Wilbert A. Padngaran who obtained seven votes.

Completing the set of new Municipal ABC officers are Vice President Jimmy K. Cherwaken, the Punong Barangay of Caluttit; Dalican Punong Barangay Reynald A. Waking as the Secretary; Poblacion Punong Barangay Glenn C. Saavedra, Sr., is the Treasurer; Gonogon Punong Barangay Rudy B. Gittabao is the Auditor; and the Board of Directors are Mainit Punong Barangay Johnson B. Tangchor, Talubin Punong Barangay Veteriano L. Dulay, Alab Oriente Punong Barangay Marlon A. Kis-ing and Samoki Punong Barangay Joseph M. Toyokan.

In an interview, Fana-ang acknowledged that being an elective official comes with a huge and deep responsibility as the punong barangays take care not just the daily management of the barangay, but of all other basic necessities needed by their constituents. With this, he assured the full representation of the 16 barangays in the municipal council.

“I am grateful of the trust that my co-punong barangays have given me. As the voice of the barangay officials in the 16 barangays of Bontoc to the municipal council, be assured that programs and projects you plan in your respective barangays will reach the municipal government and other concerned agencies. We will all work together for the development not only of Barangay Bontoc Ili where I belong, but all the barangays of Bontoc,“ Fana-ang added.

The new set of officers of the Municipal ABC took their oath before Bontoc Mayor Franklin C. Odsey and Sangguniang Bayan member at the same time Provincial Councilors League (PCL) President Alexandre C. Claver on July 18, 2018.

Coinciding with the Municipal Peace and Order Council (MPOC) meeting, the induction of the Municipal ABC officers was witnessed by the Vice Mayor Eusebio S. Kabluyen; Sangguniang Bayan members Viola P. Okko, Rose C. Farnican, Atty. Alsannyster F. Patingan, Alexandre C. Claver, Julian F. Chumacog, Robert B. Dacyon and Tomas F. Longatan; Municipal Local Government Operations Officer V Jill F. Fa-ed; municipal department heads; heads and or their representatives from the national government agencies; and barangay officials from the 16 barangays of Bontoc. // Alpine L. Killa, Bontoc –LGU






321B Lopez Bldg., Session Road, Baguio City