Nation 15 May 2019

COMELEC: Conduct of nat’l, local elections peaceful, orderly

Rate this item
(0 votes)

ILOILO CITY, May 15 (PIA) -- The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) – Iloilo on Tuesday said that the conduct of the local and national elections in Iloilo was generally peaceful and orderly despite technical glitches and defective secure digital (SD) cards.


“There are technical problems in some precincts but we have implemented solutions. We have protocols and we followed them,” said lawyer Roberto Salazar, provincial election supervisor of COMELEC – Iloilo.

Salazar said there are 13 towns that have defective SD cards and they are currently attending to this problem.

He is hoping that the problem will be given solution soon so that the Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBC) could already proclaim the winning candidates in the province.

The PBC reconvened at 9:00 a.m. on May 14 at the Session Hall of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan, Iloilo Provincial Capitol after suspending their session, 9:00 p.m., May 13.

The PBC is tasked to proclaim the winning governor, vice governor, board members and representatives to the House of Congress of the five districts of the province.

In the municipalities or cities, the board of canvassers are in charge in the proclamation of the winning mayors and members of the Sangguniang Bayan or Sangguniang Panlungsod.

Salazar said majority of the municipalities in the province have already proclaimed their winners.

In Iloilo City, some winning candidates for mayor, vice mayor, city councilors and congressional representatives were proclaimed by the City Board of Canvassers early morning of May 14.

Former congressman Jerry Treñas was proclaimed as the new mayor of Iloilo City succeeding his brother-in-law incumbent mayor Jose Espinosa III. His running mate, Jeffrey Ganzon, was declared the winning vice mayor.

The newly-elected members of the Sangguniang Panlungsod are Love Baronda, Armand Parcon, Roding Ganzon, Jay Treñas, Candice Tupas, Ely Estante, Romel Duron, Alan Zaldivar, Carlos Javellana, Lyndon Acap, Mandrie Malabor and Eduardo Peñaredondo.

Julienne Baronda was proclaimed as the winning representative in the lone district of Iloilo City earning her the distinction as the first lady congressional representative of the city. (JBG/laf/PIA6-Iloilo) 

By Lilibeth A. French


Read 434 times





321B Lopez Bldg., Session Road, Baguio City