Ifugao town re-organizes its disaster council

LAGAWE, Ifugao, Aug.2 (PIA)- - Mayor Martin Habawel Jr. of this capital town has re-organized the Lagawe Municipal Disaster Reduction and Management Council to enable the local government officials to effectively comply with all the provisions of Republic Act 10121 known as the Philippine Disaster Risk Reduction and Management System.


The Council is now composed of the local chief executive as the Chairperson with members consisting of the Municipal Disaster Officer, Mun. Planning and Development Coordinator, Mun. Social Welfare and Development Officer, Mun. Health Officer, Mun. Budget Officer, Mun. Accountant, Mun. Agriculturist, Mun. Engineer, DILG Mun. Officer, Fire Marshall, highest in rank officer of the AFP assigned in the area, Association of Barangay Chairperson President and representatives from the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, Civil Society Organizations, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Sangguniang Bayan and the Philippine Information Agency.

Meetings of the Council shall be held once every three months on dates and place to be determined by the body although the Chairperson may call for special meeting as he may deem necessary and the Council shall also promulgate their respective internal rules for their meetings.

The Council shall have the following functions: Approve, monitor, and evaluate the implementation of the Local Disaster Plan and annually review, test and develop the plan consistent with other national and local planning program; Ensure the integration of disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation into local development plans, programs and budgets as a strategy in sustainable development and poverty reduction; Recommend the implementation of forced pre-emptive evacuation of local residents if necessary, and Convene the Council.

The Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office shall serve as the Secretariat of the Council. (PIA Ifugao)






321B Lopez Bldg., Session Road, Baguio City