DENR-EMB recognizes LGUs for implementation of environmental laws

BAGUIO CITY, June 28 (PIA) -- The Department of Environment and Natural Resources – Environmental Management Bureau(DENR-EMB) in the Cordillera region recognized the various local government units who have exhibited exemplary contribution in environmental protection and enhancement.


The province of Apayao led this year’s awardees during the 3rd Cordillera Environmental Summit held in this city on Wednesday.

Apayao Governor Elias Bulut Jr. received the plaque of recognition for the Province of Apayao for the Best Practices and Exemplary Contribution in the Implementation of Environmental Laws in the Cordillera Administrative Region.

Awardees in the municipal level for same category are the municipalities of Luna in Apayao, La Trinidad in Benguet, Alfonso Lista in Ifugao, Manabo in Abra, Bontoc in Mountain Province and Tinglayan in Kalinga.

The EMB–CAR also recognized local government units for operating the Best Materials Recovery Facility namely Mankayan, Benguet; San Juan, Abra; Luna, Apayao; Alfonso Lista, Ifugao; Bontoc, Mountain Province and Tabuk City, Kalinga.

Certificates of recognition were also given to the most improved local government units in the implementation of the RA 9003 or the Solid Waste Management Act through sustained efforts and commendable initiatives. These are the municipalities of Bucay, San Juan and Pilar in Abra; Pudtol, Calanasan and Santa Marcela in Apayao; Sablan, and Itogon in Benguet; Lamut, Kiangan and Asipulo in Ifugao; Paracelis, Bauko and Sagada in Mountain Province; Balbalan and Tabuk City in Kalinga and Baguio City.

For the Cleanest and Greenest Barangays in the Cordillera, Barangay Ambiong in La Trinidad, Benguet; Barangay Pindongan in Kiangan, Ifugao; and Barangay Magsaysay in Tabuk City, Kalinga were awarded with plaques and cash prize of P200, 000.00.

Baguio artist Jojet Lamberto Reglos Mondres was also recognized as a regional awardee for his unique and commendable contribution to waste diversion and for showcasing his initiative in the art of painting through the use of waste plastic materials. He is known as the plastic bag artist who advocates a plastic-free society by using plastic bags in his artworks.

The awarding ceremony was led by DENR Undersecretary Juan Miguel Cuna, Assistant Secretary Joselin Fragada National Solid Waste Management Commissioner Crispian Lao, DENR-CAR Regional Director Ralph Pablo and EMB-CAR Regional Director Reynaldo Digamo. (RMC with Candice Monzon-PIA CAR/ UC Intern)






321B Lopez Bldg., Session Road, Baguio City