Incumbents dominate election in Apayao

LUNA, Apayao, May 13(PIA) -- “Election in the province of Apayao was over even before it started.”

So said Apayao Provincial Election Supervisor Dexter Cawis during the May 9 elections given the situation that the top posts in the province and at least four mayoralty and all the vice mayoralty candidates in the municipalities are unopposed.

It was an easy ride for unopposed candidates- incumbent Apayao Representative Eleanor Bulut-Begtang, and Governor Elias Bulut Jr. and vice gubernatorial candidate Remy Albano.

This will be the last term of the Bulut siblings in their respective posts while it will be the first term of incumbent Board Member Albano as vice governor.

For the Sangguniang Panlalawigan District, 1 winning candidates are Alison Betat, Shirley Romero, Anton Louie Talimbatog and Tolentino Mangalao.  For District 2, winners are Mailah Haylee Ballesteros, Emiliano Galleon, Macleen Julian and Elmer Molina.

Of the seven towns of Apayao, four mayors are unopposed, namely Rodolfo Juan of Flora, Rolly Guiang of Santa Marcela, Leonardo Dangoy of Conner, and Martin Lucero Lawat of Calanasan. These four unopposed mayoralty bets belong to the slate of the Liberal Party (LP).

Also re elected are incumbent mayors Josephine Bangsil of Luna and Joseph Amid.

Incumbent Vice Governor Hector Reuel Pascua won as mayor in his hometown of Pudtol.

Apayao’s seven municipalities have unopposed vice mayors mostly under the LP slate.  They are Shamir Bulut of Calanasan, Randy Ruel Begtang of Conner, Bensmar Ligwang of Kabugao, Manolito Bullaoit of Luna, Randy Laoat of Pudtol, Evelyn Martinez of Sta. Marcela, and Jessica De San Jose of Flora.

Cawis said that the election process was peaceful and was not complicated with many unopposed candidates but they experienced difficulties in the transmission of election results due to poor signal.

He said there was difficulty in sending election results from the polling precincts to the municipal board of canvassers due to weak and unstable signal in most of the areas of the province but all the results were successfully transmitted up to the provincial board of canvassers. (JDP/RMC & Jillie Ominga- PIA CAR)



  • DTI launches 'Negosyo sa Barangay' in Ifugao

    LAMUT, Ifugao, June 10 (PIA) - - The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) in the province launched Negosyo Serbisyo sa Barangay (NSB) last week  in this municipality.

  • Ifugao LGU provides incentives to 27 nonagenarians

    LAGAWE, Ifugao, June 13 (PIA) - - Twenty seven nonagenarians here received incentives from the local government unit (LGU) in recognition for their long lives.

  • Ifugao MPS initiates fund raising event for ailing boy

    HUNGDUAN, Ifugao, June 7 (PIA) - - The Municipal Police Station (MPS) here has initiated   “run for a cause”   to help the family of an ailing boy for his medication.

  • PNP – Ifugao all set for opening of classes

    LAGAWE, Ifugao, June 3 (PIA) - - Members of the Philippine National Police in the province are ready for the opening of classes on Monday, June 3, the acting provincial director assured.

  • IFSU strengthens international ties with Taiwan's NCCU

    LAMUT, Ifugao, June 3 (PIA) - - The lone state  university in the province  here is strengthening its international linkages for academic cooperation and research collaborations with  foreign universities towards the fulfilment  of its vision  of a globally recognized University upholding excellence amidst rich cultural heritage.





321B Lopez Bldg., Session Road, Baguio City