Baguio Latest News

UP Baguio holds 1st Knowledge Festival

BAGUIO CITY, Nov. 30 (PIA) -- The University of the Philippines Baguio opens its doors to the public in its 1st Knowledge Festival from November 22 to 04 December 2017.


 
With the theme: “Sika ken Siak, Puseg ti Sirib, Propagating Wisdom, Excellence and Innovation for a Sustainable Cordillera”, the event gathered together the University’s faculty scientists, researchers and artists to forge stronger interdisciplinary collaborations and to cooperate towards effectively showcasing their outputs to media and the university’s home community.
 
“The Knowledge Festival is an attempt to bridge the gap between UP and the public by showcasing and popularizing the works of the university for public knowledge and utilization as well,” UP Baguio Chancellor Dr. Raymundo Rovillos said.
 
The Chancellor admitted there is a perception that UP Baguio is an “ivory tower” or is not connected with the society, and the activity aims to correct that perception by opening to the public the University’s facilities as well as the products and outputs so that the public will know how it will be used in their lives.

The event also showcases the technologies, researches and creative works in their “laymanized” form so these could be better understood by the public. This hopes to develop an appreciation for the value chain from basic research to applied research and innovations that could provide solutions to problems and maximize its impact to Northern Luzon society.

Rovillos said they also invited officials from the local government units and the different government line agencies to look into what are the relevant outputs of the University that would be useful in their policy making and implementation.

The festival opened on November 22 with tour of exhibits of the different facilities and colleges such as the College of Arts and Communication which features the art installations and sculpture exhibits, performances and media experiences; the College of Science which has tours at the Plasma Physics Laboratory; Biology and Chemistry Lab; Molecular and Microbiology Lab and Math and Computer Science laboratories. The College of Social Sciences has exhibits of working papers, research outputs/reports, books, posters and photos, thesis, and seminar papers.
 
The UP Cordillera Studies Center also has exhibits on recent publications, training programs and extension services including the Cultural Heritage and Community Archives, Governance and Public Policy and Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction and Management.

Other exhibits include the UP Baguio Library with the launching of the Baguio, Then and Now; Worcester Photographic Collection; the Committee on Culture and Arts, the Program for Indigenous Cultures and the Kasarian Gender Studies Program.

Aside from the exhibits, the Festival also features faculty and student conferences, symposiums and lectures scheduled until December 4, and the UP Baguio Foundation Day celebration on December 1.
 
Meanwhile, Department of Tourism-Cordillera Regional Director Venus Tan said the festival is an opportunity for the people of Baguio as well as tourists to learn and appreciate the UP Baguio and what it can contribute to the public.
 
“With the recent declaration of Baguio City as a UNESCO Creative City, UP Baguio proves that the city is really a creative city and this could be part of the creative circuits of the tourism programs for the City of Baguio,” Tan said. Redjie Melvic Cawis (JDP/ RMC with D. Montano & V. Corpuz- PIA CAR/ ISU interns)

 

Baguio Tourist Attractions

Marker of the Philippine Commission's First Session in Baguio

This is the site of the building where the members of the Philippine Commission met from April 22 to June 11, 1904 and officially initiated the use of Baguio as the Philippine Summer Capital. The Commission was composed of Governor General Luke Wright, president, and Commissioners Henry Ide, Dean C. Worcester, T Padre Tavera, Benito Legarda, Jose de Luzuriaga, James Smith and Cameron Forbes.

Kennon Road and its Builder

Tourist-Spots-in-BaguioNamed after Col. Lyman W. Kennon, who was the final builder of the famous Benguet road, with the help of the industrious Cordillerans and foreign workers. Kennon road is the shortest and the most scenic highway linking Baguio and the lowlands. The lion's head can be found along the way. Final construction of this road was finished in 1903. Col. L. Kennon first ascended to Baguio in 1905. Of the original workers, the Igorots and Japanese were admired for their trustworthiness and willingness to work. Kennon was closed to traffic after the July 16, 1990 earthquake. It is now open to light vehicles only.

Diplomat Hotel on Dominican Hill

diplomatIn May 1911, the councils of the Province of the Dominican Order voted to construct a vacation house in Baguio on a 17-hectare property they had acquired when the American authorities were encouraging people to come here. Actual work started in 1913 under Fr. Roque Ruano and the building was inaugurated on May 23, 1925. To take advantage of the tax exemptions a school called Collegio del Santissimo Rosario was opened in June 1915 but due to the very small enrollment the school closed in 1917, reverting the building to the original vacation house. During WWII refugees first occupied it. Later the Japanese Army Liberation Forces had to bomb out the refugees from the buildings. The five hits left very extensive damage and for a time it was left unrepaired. Reconstruction was started in 1947 and completed in 1948 with most of its pre-war grandeur and beauty restored. In 1973, Diplomat Hotels, Inc. acquired ownership, remodeled the interior into a 33-bedroom hotel with modern facilities, but retained the unique and distinct personality of the Dominican Hill. In the 80's the hotel ceased operations due to the death of one of its majority stockholders. Plans are underway to develop this historical religious landmark into a tourist resort.

Philippine Military Academy

PMAThe Philippine Commission promulgated Act No. 175, which became the basis for the creation of the Philippine Constabulary in August 8, 1905. The school for the officers of the constabulary was first located in Sta. Lucia Barracks in Manila. Later in 1908, it was relocated in Baguio on the site known as Constabulary Hill later renamed Camp Henry T. Allen, in honor of the first chief of the Philippine Constabulary. With the passage of the Jones Law, the school was later changed to "Academy for Officers of the Philippine Constabulary" with a two-year curriculum. In 1908, the course was raised to collegiate level and later lengthened to three years with class 1938 as having the last graduates of that course. When the commonwealth government was established in 1935, the Philippine Military Academy was created in place of the Philippine Constabulary Academy. Under the National Defense Act, the PMA was authorized to maintain cadet strength of 350. Because of increased population, the academy transferred to Teachers Camp in June 1936 where it remained until WWII broke out. After the war the PMA headquarters was temporarily relocated at Camp Murphy and later at Alabang, while Camp Allen was being rehabilitated. Since May 1950 the Philippine Military Academy has found its permanent home at Fort del Pilar, Loakan, Baguio City.

The Mansion

The-Mansion-Baguio-CityThis imposing and majestic mansion has a long list of Filipino Presidents and American governor-generals. It has elegantly structured building and guesthouse. Its gate is patterned after that of London's Buckingham Palace. The Mansion has also been the site of several international conferences and a working office of the President of the Philippines during his visits to the City.

Camp John Hay

camp-john-hay-amphitheaterThis former American recreational facility is currently undergoing development as a world class resort. As of March 27, 1999, the golf course was completed and is now open, The skating rink, picnic area, and the mini golf course at the Scout Hill area are likewise open.

Asin Hot Spring

Located 16 kilometers northwest of Baguio, the resort's main feature is a swimming pool surrounded by thermal springs, lush vegetation and several hanging bridges. It is an ideal respite. This is now eyed to be redeveloped into a tourism resort along with the adjoining tourist attractions of Tuba and Baguio.

Bell Church

The-Bell-Church-of-Baguio-CityThis cluster of temples is located on the border of Baguio City and Trinidad Valley. Its exotic oriental architecture, pagodas roof, ornate gateway, dragon ornaments and Buddha - guarded windows gaze from atop a hill. The Bell Temple priest practices a mixture of Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, and Christianity. One may even try having his fortune told.

Burnham Park

Burnham-Park-BaguioIt is the oldest of all Baguio parks. One can unwind from the tension of the day-to-day bustle by biking, skating or simply reflecting on the day's experiences amid a soothing garden backdrop of colorful flowers. It is thickly wooded and is a great place to have picnics and concerts. There are tennis and basketball courts, a football field, athletic oval and an orchidarium.

Mines View Park

Mines-View-Park-Baguio-CityAppropriately named for its breathtaking view of Benguet's mountain ranges where gold, silver and other ores were once quarried. There are souvenir shops around the park offering such items as woodcarvings, woven cloth, ashtrays, shell products and other curio items.

Wright Park

It is sometimes mistakenly called "Ride Park" by some that identify this pine tree park reserve for kiddy horse rides. A long stairway leads to the "Pool of the Pines", a 100 meter long pool of water lined on both sides by the famous Baguio towering pine.